Naturally Amari

Naturally Amari is a newly launched natural hair care line (March 2013) that believes in using Organic, unrefined raw butters as the key ingredient and then adding some of the best Essential and Carrier oils possible.

Naturally Amari checks and balances the PH level on ALL hair care products.

WHY??

Ever wonder why some hair products may define your curly, kinky, or wavy hair pattern while others give you no curl definition at all? Natural/African American hair has naturally raised cuticles which makes it more sensitive to PH than other hair types. Having a product that is too high or too low in PH levels can rob you of your curl pattern, cause dry, frizzy hair, and leave you on a unpredictable PH rollercoaster.

Your Hair Has Special Needs?

***most items are customizable to meet our customers hair and skin care problem

None of the products contain Parabens, Sulfates, Mineral Oils, Petroleum, Synthetic Dyes

Why and I so Amped???

Naturally Amari is 100% Chem Free. YES!!!!

Ingredient highlight: Monoi Oil, Marshmallow Root, Fenugreek Seeds, Ginger Root, Pure Guava Extract Powder, Horsetail Root, Burdock Root, Clove Bud Essential Oil, Geranium Essential Oil, Broccoli Butter/seed oil

The ingredient roll is fiya. Naturally Amari uses Organic Fair Traded butters, GMO Free butters, she pays attention to PH balance and and uses naturally derives preservatives.

Being that I a person that loves to whip up my own hair care products, I often find myself thinking, “I’m pretty sure I can make that myself or something close to it”, but when I read the ingredients, I was I was seriously captivated. Ok I’ll be honest, the DIYer in me was like “Yo! You need to step up your mix game =)” But yeah I just don’t feel the need to, because I love this line that much and will be a customer as long as my pockets can afford.  I’m still mixing my own stuff, but this line has definitely become new go to styling aid and had replaced my ION leave in spray, that I’ve been trying so hard to rid.

What I also love is that she explains what each of the ingredient can do for you. Have you ever purchased something because the name was cool, but not really know what the benefits were and then later realize that it really was no benefit to you or it actually worked against you. So you paid all this extra money for nothing. GUILTY.  The way she has her products listing, is super helpful and educational *wink*

***OK heres the skinny on the products I tested out***

Sorry I took pictures, but haven’t uploaded them yet =/

Root Juice Hair Detangler/Spritzer

8oz Root Juice Hair Detangler/Spritzer/Horsetail/Burdock/Marshmallow Root/Curl Definer/PH Balanced

Whats in it:  Certified Organic Marshmallow Root, Certified Organic Horsetail Root, Certified Organic Burdock Root, Raw Organic Honey, 100% Natural Aloe Vera Gel, Monoi Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Natural preservative (Optiphen)

***Another only includes:  Certified Organic Marshmallow Root, 100% Natural Aloe Vera Gel, Monoi Oil, Natural preservative (Optiphen)

Suggested Usage:-After showering, spray product evenly and sparingly onto damp hair to detangle.
-In the morning or throughout the day, use to product to refresh and revive your curls.

******Natural Preservative is added but to ensure long shelf life, please refrigerate for best results

I requested no vegi glycerin

Ive been on the hunt for a leave in detangling spay. Ive been using Ion Miracle Leave-In Conditioner and have been trying to find something cleaner, Naturally Amari has it. It smells wonderful.  A very light sent but noticeably nice.  I’m super pouty faced that I need to keep this refrigerated, but I’ll come to get over it cus I really like it. It does exactly what I need it to do. My hair doesn’t shrivel up and puff up all crazy. It just makes my hair feel sooo soft.  Aside for detangling, I love this to revive parched hair in between washes. My hair doesn’t do well with water alone, so this excellent and clean and healthy =) I love love love the ingredients used.

I did not detangle my hair before washing my hair with shea moisture hibiscus and coconut shampoo, which generally makes my hair really curly and eventually  tangley ( I tend to use it for cowashes), and then I toweled dried my hair with my microfiber towel. I then sprayed this on my hair and effortlessly detangled my hair. My hair was semi stretched almost like a blow out. When I tried it the first time on dry stretched hair and just rubbed it in , it created a nice elongated curl. Its perfect for both wet and dry hair.

Hemp Hair Milk

8oz Hemp Hair Milk/Light Moisturizer/Marshmallow Root/PH Balanced/Curl Definer

What is it: PH Balanced Light Moisturizing Hair Milk Cream/Curl Definer

Whats in it:  Distilled Water, Hemp Seed Oil, Organic Shea Nilotica Fair Trade Butter, GMO FREE Soy Butter, 100% Natural Aloe Vera Gel, Macadamia Nut Oil, Monoi Oil, Marshmallow Root, Emulsifying Wax NF (nonionic),Natural preservative (Optiphen)

This is very differ from any hair milk that Ive ever used. For a quick comparison, Shea Moisture’s hair milk is a thick white cream, similar to conditioner, My Honey Child’s Hair milk is wet like thick water. This one is a combo of them both. LOL It’s a waaaaay  better version of a shea and aloe vera gel mix that I tried to make once upon a time.  It applies really nicely to my hair and it makes my afro puff nice and fluffy. My hair had so much movement, I was like a Vidal Sassoon commercial. Flipping my fro all over the place. I love that when it dries, my hair is very moisturized. If you don’t like oils, this may not be your thing. Maybe try the Root Juice Hair Detangler or ask her if she can make adjustments so that its lighter on your hair.

I applied this to my hair after detangling with the root juice. My hair curled back up. When my hair dried, my hair did not shrink as much as most products tend to make my hair do. I had a nice fluffy/curlyish fro throughout the whole day. And this is even without applying any type of hair butter =)

Natural Hair Gel

Natural Hair Gel Flaxseed & Marshmallow Root Hair Softner, Conditioner, Ph Balanced, Hair Moisturizer 8oz

What is it:  Moisturizer, Conditioner, Curly Hair, Flaxseed & Marshmallow Root,

Whats in it: Certified Organic Flaxseeds, Certified Organic Marshmallow Root, 100% Natural Aloe Vera Gel, Sweet Almond Oil, Vitamin E Oil, Natural preservative (Optiphen)

***Another version includes:  Certified Organic Fenugreek Seeds, Certified Organic Ginger  Grapseed Oil

Ok basically this is flax hair gel. So I’ve showed you how to make flax seed gel and its super simple. So why buy it?  Cus I didn’t have to make it LOL. And unlike my own, its naturally preserved so I don’t have to remember to put it in the fridge all the time.

I really like this mix with the aloe vera gel and the marshmallow root. I’ve never used marshmallow root before now and so far I like. I’m temped to get me some and see what I come up with.

If you are a flax seed gel fan, you will love this to no end. This gel isn’t as slimy as my homemade flax seed gel. Its still gooey but much more smoother. I’m not a big gel user (this is my roommates) because I’m too lazy to make my Flax seed gel when it runs out and I don’t mess with store bought gels too much, but I can see me sneaking some of this from my roomie. It feels really nice on your hair and again still smell nice, even though its unscented. In comparison to making this myself, I really like the texture, the convenience and the bonus ingredients. It really does nicely with making your curls pop.

I want to get the other version with the, Fenugreek Seeds, Ginger and Grapseed Oil =)

Happy GMO FREE Soy Hair Butter

8oz Happy GMO FREE Soy Hair Butter/Curl Definer Hair Moisturizer/PH Balanced/Hair Cream

What is it:  PH Balanced Rich Moisturizing Hair Cream/Curl Definer/Hair Creme

Whats in it:  GMO FREE Soy Butter, Natural Unrefined Fair Trade Shea Butter, 100% Natural Aloe Vera Gel, Hemp Seed Oil, Extra Virgin Organic Olive Oil, Raw Organic Honey, Natural preservative (Optiphen)

Suggested Usage:
I love this as a twist-out cream ***DISCLAIMER*** If you arnt keen to protein, you may want to stay clear of the Soy and opt for a different butter. Also I wouldn’t recommend this as a scalp treatment, but as a styling aid.

This is the simplest of her Hair butter collection (Hemp, Murumuru, Broccoli, Shea and Tangerine Seed oil). And I really like it. It has a bit of a sticky texture due to the aloe gel and honey. But sticky in the best possible way. I love twisting my hair this. It literally makes a perfect twist-out cream. My hair did not feel heavy or producty. I ordered unscented, yet it still has a light aroma. Whats great about this butter is that you can refresh an old twist out and it will look just like new. literally I did a test twist, and took it out after like 10-15 minutes and it looked as if I actually did full on regime and let the twist sit over night. As a person that doesn’t wash my hair very often (1-2 weeks), and want to re-twist on dry hair, this soy butter is BOMB! You really do not need a lot (a little will go a long way), so if you are a bit heavy handed as myself, I suggest doing some Jedi mind tricks on yourself so you don’t. Otherwise your hair will be a bit oily. I emphasize that this is a fairly oily product on its own, so you may want to keep that in mind when applying other oily products. I’m a bit critical when it comes to butters, because I’ve been making my own for years, but I put this in my top 5 butter worth buying list.

I used this to do a twist out on my fro that I had worn throughout the day (using the dentangler and the milk). I applied this to my hair and did two stand twists. Normally when I do twist they do not stay the stretched length. My hair tends to shrink up. But with this, but hair stayed nice and elongated. I really loved how uniformed and neat my twist looked and thats without me giving much effort or thought to it. Usually I only wear my two strands when I do small twists because medium ones tend to look puffy on me. But not when using this Hair butter. The product really keeps it shape and allowed me rawk medium twists =) I see more twist outs in my future as protective style =)

Guava, Organic Honey Natural Hair Deep Conditioner

Guava, Organic Honey Natural Hair Deep ConditionerWhats in it:  Pure Guava Extract Powder, Raw Organic Honey, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Fair Traded Shea Nilotica Butter, Optiphen ND (Natural Preservative)

Application: 
1. Scoop out desired amount for one application, and place in heat resistant bowl
2. Add either plain water or coconut water that has been heated/warmed. By choosing one of these, you will keep the PH level down and at a safe level for your natural hair. ****Should you use coconut milk, please understand that it protein based and has a higher PH level, thus raising the PH level of the conditioner. If the level is raised too high, you may not achieve your desired results.
2. Using a plastic spoon, stir your mixture until it is of a thick paste consistency.
3. Section your hair if desired and apply from root to hair ends. Do this over your entire head.
4. Place a shower cap on and leave the conditioner on for 30-45 minutes
5. Rinse thoroughly and ENJOY YOUR TREAT!!!

Again something new for me. You have to mix before using it. similar concept to bentonite clay but its not clay. It looks a body or face scrub (which she offers also). I took some and rubbed it into my hands and my hands felt amazing afterwards. Reminds me of those hand scrubs you try at sink in Bath and Body Works. Ok Ok so that’s not what its for but it makes me interested in her scrubs. So focusing on the deep conditioner. As mentioned before, you have to do a little mixing, but don’t let that sway you. Just take what you need and some hot to warm water and mix. Simple. It turns into a paste that you just apply to your hair. Let sit on for 30 mins and BOOP!  I unfortunately haven’t had a chance to use this yet, but I’m thinking its not as messy as bentonite clay. Based on everything else I’ve tried I cannot foresee me not liking it. =)

CONS

If you can even consider this a con. I call it more a suggestion

I really don’t care for the packaging.

The butter comes in a mason jar which was no surprise to me, but the lid could stand to be changed, because it separates into two pieces, which can result in a big mess.

Also the conditioner could benefit from a twist top lid. Mine was in a glass jar with a flip top lip. Though cute, the oils leaked out some during shipping. So you’d have to make sure its not leaning on its side otherwise I foresee no issues.

The liquid items were packed in a solid white bottle, which was a surprise to me. I would prefer it to be in a clear bottle as pictured, so I can see if there is any separation (which may occur with natural products,  after sitting for a while) happening with my product that needs to be shaken up.  Also its just pretty.

Labeling. Only one of the items was labeled. I completely missed this when I was ordering (her pictures don’t have labels either), but aside from the fact that I know what I have, how does anyone else know unless I tell em. Or If you’re embracing the product junky in you and rotate products you may need a little reminder of say usage idea…… *-)

Leave a Reply

