Hair Washing Regimen

Of course there is the typical douse your hair with water and scrub type method, which can prove to be quick and simple and straight to the point. I just found it to be not too effective as when I was finished, my hair would just tangle up or if i did a wash and go, i’ll sit on top of my head when it dried. I’d end up spending a lot time trying to detangle and never really evenly applied product. Or I’d end up using waaaayyy too much product. None the less there was no telling what I would end up looking like by the time it all dried **YIKES**

I do this multi-section method over my bathroom sink. It’s very rare I wash my hair the old fashion way anymore…… Even if I just wash my hair full on in the shower. I make sure to section my hair =) It may be a little time consuming at first, but once you get the hang of it, its soooo very worth it.

Quick tip – Easier with a removable shower head so you can control the direction of the water flow.
Do everything in a downward motion.

IMG_1500

WHEN CO-WASHING

–       I section and clip up my hair in 6-8 sections to wash each section individually.
–       I spray the section with water
–       I spray the section with my AVC solution on the roots and cleanse from roots to ends
–       I then apply my co-wash to the roots and cleanse from roots to ends. (my favorite is Taliah Waajid Clean & Natural Herbal Hair Wash)
–       I then apply my deep conditioner from root to end (this is optional)
–       I then use my tangle wrangler brush and detangle my hair.

After each section I then hop in the shower and rinse each section individually from front to back (or for my navy peep, forward to aft).  This way you don’t mess up the back when you are doing the front.

–       I twist each section after it has been rinsed.
–       I run my fingers down each twist to wring the access water out.  That way I don’t need to use a towel and create unnecessary frizzies

WHEN SHAMPOOING

–       I section and clip up my hair in 6-8 sections to wash each section individually.
–       I spray the section with water
–       I apply shampoo to the roots and cleanse from roots to ends.
–       I then use my tangle wrangler brush and detangle my hair.
–       I then hop in the shower and rinse each section individually from front to back
–       I then apply my conditioner or deep conditioner to the section and secure
–       After all section are done I let sit for a little (shower shave/my legs to pass the time)
–       I then rinse again
–       I twist each section after it has been rinsed.
–       I run my fingers down each twist to wring the access water out.  That way I don’t need to use a towel and create unnecessary frizzies

Sounds like a lot, but I wish I knew of this concept, when I was in the Navy. It would have save me countless hours of my life, trying to detangle my hair…..Everyday!!! When I wash my hair before, the old fashion way, it was never really detangled. It was a nice idea of detangled, but its just an excuse for each of my hair strands to have a fight with one another =/ Plus this way cuts drying time down =)

Some more reasons why this is my staple hair washing method

1.       Detangle Detangle Detangle. My hair is soooo much easier to detangle and it stays that way. Even when I use a shampoo or conditioner that I wouldn’t call my favorite, I may not like how my hair feels, but it’s still detangled.

2.       Twist out ready. After wards I just apply my product and boom instant twist out. Well not instant, but man I did have to do much other than apply my product and twist. No worrying about sectioning my hair or detangling. Its already done.

3.       Overall coverage. I can ensure that I am cleaning all of my scalp and conditioning all of my hair and getting it all out in the end. Before there was no telling what was really going on if it wasn’t my ends.

4.       Less product. You can use smaller amounts, rather than the big glob needed before. I still have a little trouble with this because I have portion control issues, but if you have that together you will see that your products will last longer.

5.       Save water. From the time I wash my hair to conditioning , then showering and shaving legs while the conditioner sits for a bit then to rinsing. I could literally run the water for a good 45min – 1hr. Sooo much water being wasted. I do turn the water off when I’m applying the conditioner most time….but I’d be lying if I said I remembered to do it all the time

6.       Reduces hair down the drain. I have a strainer in shower to keep hair from going down the drain, but that thing lawd……even when there is no hair on it, its stops up and I end up with a puddle. I’ve cleaned it and everything. I have to do a lot of work keeping hair out of my drain. With this methods, I see very little shedding since I’ve handled most of it before hand. To prevent hair from going down the sink drain. I close the drain and then run water into the sink making a small pool. I rinse my brush out in the pool. Afterwards, I swirl the water around to collect the hair and dump it in the trash. Easy day.

7.       You can sit down. If you have super long hair, standing up all that time is tiring. Especially if your hair is very thick or easily tangled and you waited until late and you’re already tired. OOOO I dread it.

8.       Not boring. You can watch TV, listen to the radio., chat  with a pal, talk on the phone all the thing you can’t do while spending hours in the shower =) ok that’s a stretch but come on…..

Even if I’m not doing this method standing out of the shower, I still practice while in the shower. I still part my hair in the sections and clean each section one at a time. pretty much the same results, you just don’t get to the beanies of 5-8. Ok more so 5-6 since 7 and 8 are more so convenience and being lazy.

I hope this makes washing easier for you.

One response to “Hair Washing Regimen

  1. Pingback: Beautiful Curls Review | KinkyNappyCurly·

Leave a Reply

