Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying Shampoo & Conditioner

My local grocery store was going out of business and everything in it was 50% off. All I could think of was raiding the organic and natural food sections I ran across the Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying Shampoo & Conditioner and because I’ve never heard anything bad about this line and have like their shower gel and lotions in the past, I figured why not???? Both Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying Shampoo and conditioner are:

• Certified by QAI to NSF/ANSI 305, the American National Standard for personal care products containing organic ingredients
• Contains 70% organic content
• No parabens, harsh preservatives, synthetic colors or fragrances, phthalates or harmful sulfates
• 100% vegetarian ingredients
• No animal testing

I’ve been trying to go 2 weeks without washing my hair because it’s so cold right now. And allow me to share that my hair was killing me . I needed to wash my hair soooo bad. I woke up itching the crap out of my head and just felt I needed something that would penetrate the gunk on my scalp. At 730am on a Sunday,  I wasn’t trying to do my routine multisection hair wash method and I wasn’t trying to mess with AVC. Soooooo I reached for Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying shampoo thats been sitting since I scooped it up.

Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying shampoo

Product description: Rich plant emollients plus clarifying Lemon, Chamomile, Wheat Protein, Vitamin E, Guar and Jojoba condition while sealing the hair cuticle for instantly renewed color and shine

Lemon Essential Oil, Chamomile Extract, Aloe and Vitamins gently clarify, brighten and remove excess oils and dulling build up to restore natural highlights, color and shine.

I actually really like this Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying shampoo. It’s a decent alternative to ACV, especially if you hate the smell of AVC or making it is just too inconvenient. Also its relatively easy to find in most stores. I picked mine up in Food Lion for example. AVC is still my #1, but this is a fine back up.  It cleans really well and it smells nice. I found that the consistency of the shampoo was nearly watery. It’s wasn’t as thick as most shampoos I’m familiar with so when I poured it into my hand, quite a bit came out and fast. So be mindful with pouring, because you really do not need a lot. You just need enough to clean your scalp. With this Clarifying shampoo, I did find my hair more receptive when I only cleaned the scalp and noticed that cleaning all of my hair, was a little drying. At the same time, there are times when washing all of your hair is more practical, for example when you hair is filled with product, adn this clarifier is good enough for the job. Granted, your hair may feel little dry afterwards but not anywhere near that stripped to the bone feeling. Just remember that you do not need a lot. Less if definitely better with this product.

Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying Conditioner

Product description: Rich plant emollients plus clarifying Lemon, Chamomile, Wheat Protein, Vitamin E, Guar and Jojoba condition while sealing the hair cuticle for instantly renewed color and shine

Product description: Rich plant emollients plus clarifying Lemon, Chamomile, Wheat Protein, Vitamin E, Guar and Jojoba condition while sealing the hair cuticle for instantly renewed color and shine

As far as the conditioner, I wasn’t that impressed. This is nothing that I’d pick up again. I applied after the Clarifying shampoo and my hair didn’t feel much different from after the wash, so there really isn’t much to share on it. Fortunately I have an awesome leave-in and my HM Shea butter mix is the bomb. Perhaps, those with finer hair may appreciate it better that those with denser hair. I dont know. I read some reviews on Amazon and a lot were complaining about the conditioner, since Avalon Organics changed the formula. So it just might be a fail over all. I’m goign to to use it to shave my legs so I dont feel like I wasted my money =)

One response to “Avalon Organic Lemon Clarifying Shampoo & Conditioner

  1. It is hard to find clarifying shampoo that cleans your hair AND smells nice, so this has helped me a lot. thank you!

Leave a Reply

