Clean Tomato Sauce in No Time


IMG_1579

When I was in Italy, for a few days we stayed in this small town called Gizzeria. There was like one tiny market for the whole town. One particular day we all decided to have a nice traditional Italian dinner out on the veranda. We literally had a bunch of garlic some tomatoes, oil, and salt. Oh and cheese of course…….It was delicious……After my vacation to Italy, having the best dishes of my life, made with some tomatoes and some oil; I felt that it was so necessary to stop buying spaghetti sauce from the store (and a lot of other things and for a lot of other reasons….ever question the meat in the meat sauce or the cheeses).

Its super easy to make and I can control what ingredients are in it. But if you’re always tight for time much like myself, grabbing the jar just seems sooo much easier. I’m not going to lie, I made my home made sauce for a while, but it takes such for thought and the cutting and waiting for the tomatoes to wilt down………I’d end up wasting tomatoes and eventually went back to the jars. Buuut since I now think more about what I put into my body, its harder to just pick up any jar. I’d spend sooo much time reading ingredients and when I’d find the one I was ok with, it ended up costing an arm and a leg.

And then when I thought about it, I have everything I need at home except some tomatoes I just need to come up with an easier method. So now I just throw them in my VITAMIX or my Ninja. It save me so much time since I don’t have to cut anymore and I don’t have to wait for the tomatoes to wilt down. =)

Seriously, dont get caught up in the details, just throw in what you like and have fun. I personally love sneaking in some yummy carrots*. Their taste is so subtle no one will ever really know (beta carotine anyone ) I also love my greens, so spinach or kale usually finds its way in. I love to add olives** or eggplant**, mushrooms**, and even artichokes** to zazz it up. Look at the back of your favorite store brand and make it your own.
*If your blender isn’t strong enough to chop carrots, you’ll need to cut them by hand.
** I dont recommend throwing in blender……you should to cut by hand.

Heres a quick receipt.

  • Ground pork (turkey, beef or chicken)
  • Apx 6 plum tomatoes
  • 6 garlic cloves (to taste)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. McCormick Italian seasoning (oregano or whatever you like)
  • fresh basil (or dried)
  • Sea salt (or regular) to taste
  • Fresh peppercorn (whole) to taste
  • Apx 10 baby grated carrots
  • fresh parsley(or dried)
  • Sundried Tomatoes
  • Baby spinach(also try olives and or artichoke)
  • your favorite cheese (optional…I used fresh asiago)

I used annie chun’s black pearl rice the next day rather than pasta.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. I threw all of my ingredients minus spinach into the VITAMIX and gave it a quick light pulse. You don’t want to puree it into a soup. It should resemble salsa not soup.
  2. I then bring the mixture to the stove and get it to a nice simmer
  3. I then pour it over my cooked ground pork and let it simmer until it thickens to my liking
  4. I then cover with a bed of baby spinach ( you can add artichoke and or olives at this point too)
  5. I cover the pot with the lid to allow the spinach to steam a little (makes it easier to stir)
  6. Then I mix it all in allowing the heated sauce to finish cooking the spinach.
  7. Add your favorite cheese
  8. All done!

The best part is that it taste even better the next day so don’t worry about making too much. Store in the friggy for up to 3 days or freeze in ice cube trays, then freezer bag for up to 6 months (easier to measure portions than standard freezing methods).

Leave a Reply

