Is going back to our roots bringing us closer together?

I remember when I was first growing my hair out and I having the hardest time of my life. There was no natural hair care section in my Walmart or Target. There was hardly any online support groups. I just remember me asking ladies that I saw with natural  hair and when I would ask them what practices they used for their hair, they’d all look at me like I was an idiot for asking. Most common response was “Nothing”…….Really nothing!!! And there were always so stank with it.  It was like some super-secret club I was trying to get into and they weren’t trying to let me in.

Now I cannot go anywhere without discussing natural hair. How dope is that? Seriously I’ve met so many people just randomly in life that I would have normally have met. All because of our Kinky Heads.   Is it me or us going back to our roots, is bringing us closer together as a people. I’f not, a girl can dream =)

2 responses to “Is going back to our roots bringing us closer together?

  1. OMG! I couldn’t agree more. I remember when I first started out. I felt so alone. It was like no one else understood me. I would get so many negative comments from other ethnic women. I would hear things like, “Girl I don’t know how you do it, I would never be caught with my hair nappy like that”. But fast forward a couple years later & I can’t turn my head without seeing women embracing their natural hair textures. I love it. As a matter of fact that is how we met. I was admiring your hair lol. It’s so funny how embracing our roots gives us this bond.

    • We still have a ways to go….A loooong ways to go. Now were dealing with “are we natural enough?”…..
      But girl I can’t believe the time I spent every morning just to get a bun. Now that my hair is far more managageable, it takes me no time. I wish there was more bonding happening back in ’06/’07 LOL LAWD!!!!
      And thank you sooo much =)

Leave a Reply

