Curl Enhancing Smoothie ~vs~ Loc Butter ~~ Product Mashup

Shea Moisture Organic Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie

~VS ~

Carol’s Daughter Loc Butter

76430229022LocButter8oz

I seriously wish I had thought of this when I was on the boat, while stationed in Japan. I would wear my hair in a bun so much that I would have that permanent bun look when I took my hair down. My hair refused to do anything for me other than go everywhere.  When I was on the ship and we’d pull in to ports, I’d spend sooo much time trying to make my hair look cute and unmilitary before going on liberty;  Half the time I just threw on a knit cap or an afro puff and called it a day. This mash-up is the BOMB for a wash and go especially when time is limited. Don’t have to worry about water dripping down your neck and don’t have to prep the night before.

Unfortunately not much has changed since I left the Navy. I’m still rushing to get somewhere with my hair looking cray cray. (I was busy doing homework, Daaag!)

I hopped in the shower and did a traditional hair wash with Shea Moisture Organic Coconut & Hibiscus Shampoo and followed up with Ion Reconstructor . ( I will review these products soon) I left the treatment on for about 5 mins. I strained as much water out of my hair as I possibly could. I then quickly slabbed some of my butters-n-bars shae butter mix, with no particular order. I just wanted to make sure my ends and scalp was touched. I sectioned my hair off and covered with a mix of the Shea Moisture Organic Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie and the Carol Daughter’s Loc Butter adn twisted each section. I was pretty liberal with these products, so I attempted to strain out the access product, but not much came out =)

After twisting my hair, I did my make-up and quickly got dressed. I’d say maybe 10-15 minutes laps time in between.

I then untwisted my hair and I couldn’t have been happier. The Beeswax in the Loc butter gave a nice soft hold. And the Curl Enhancing Smoothie added definition to my curls. My hair looked nice and shiny.

I’d say it took my apx 1hr and 15/30mins to do all of this. To reduce time you can skip the twisting step, but note that your hair will have more shrinkage and trust theres nothing wrong with that. I do recommend laying some hair pins throughout your hair across the tops of your roots to allow your hair to dry down, rather than it drying up.

By the time I made it to my event (a 40mins drive later) my hair for the most part was dry (I had the heat on in the car). I did have some shrinkage, but not too much to complain about. And my hair staid down. no sitting on the top of my head. I will say, going back to when I attempted to strain the access product off my twists and not much cam out…..Well that’s because my hair absorbed the mess out that mixture……which resulted in my hair feeling a bit greasy. Next time around I’ll be sure to use less.

I started this product mash-up on Sunday and it survived  a good 3 days with out having to add anything extra with positive results. By the 3rd day my hair had grown too big to wear to work so I retwisted with a tiny amount of the Curl Enhancing Smoothie just to tone and weigh down my hair and it resembled Day 3 hair.

I like these products apart but luuuuv these two together and will add this to my wash and go regimine . DOPE STAMP!!!!

Day 1 of hair mashup

Day 1 of  Curl Enhancer and Loc Butter mashup. I LIKEY!

1st night only twisted front and pineappled the back

1st night only twisted front and pineappled the back

Day 2 results

Day 2 results

Day 3 results. I ended up re twisting all of my hair the night prior

Day 3 results. I ended up re twisting all of my hair the night prior

One response to “Curl Enhancing Smoothie ~vs~ Loc Butter ~~ Product Mashup

  1. Pingback: Carol’s Daughter Loc Butter « KinkyNappyCurly·

Leave a Reply

