AS I AM

Product Review ~ AS I AM

As I Am Coconut CoWash

IMG_0604Ingredients: Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) and Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine)¹, Cetyl Alcohol², Cetrimonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol², PEG-40 Castor Oil, Stearlkonium chloride, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil², Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil¹, Phytosterols¹, Serenoa Serrulata Fruit Extract¹, Quaternium-18, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene, Methylisothiazolinone

  • Gently cleanses hair and scalp
  • Removes product residue
  • Preserve moisture

As I Am Coconut CoWash is the way to cleanse your hair most of the time. This light no-suds conditioning cream gently spreads easily throughout your hair and removes residue including all of the things you’ve used to style and maintain your coils and curls.

Coconut Cowash is different from any other because it contains a special blend of natural ingredients that work to promote healthy hair growth from the follicular level. Maintains moisture, adds more moisture and helps hair retain moisture until your next cleanse.

Makes detangling a breeze and rinses easily from hair. Gentle enough for daily use and is safe for color-treated hair.

 As I Am Leave-In Conditioner 

IMG_0599

Ingredients: Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut)¹ and Phyllanthus emblica (Amla)¹, Cetyl Alcohol¹, Citric Acid¹, Phytosterols¹, Serenoa Serrulata Fruit (Saw Palmetto) Extract¹, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract¹, Propylene Glycol, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract¹, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract¹, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Stalk Extract¹, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root¹, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene

  • Eases wet combing
  • Helps strengthen hair
  • Seals the cuticle layer

A great leave-in is a vital first step in styling. Smooth it on after cleansing and conditioning. Your finished style will be softer shinier and more manageable.

As I Am Leave-In Conditioner keeps tangles away and provides a great foundation for natural styling. It contains an organic strengthening agent, plus natural ingredients that promote hair growth.

As I Am DoubleButter Cream

IMG_0598

Ingredients: Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) ¹ and Phyllanthus Emblica (Amla) ¹ and Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine)¹ and Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root¹, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)¹, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil¹, Theobromo Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter (CocoaButter)¹, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil¹, Emulsifying Wax NF, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil¹, Glycerin¹, Lanolin¹, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil¹ , Beeswax¹, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil¹, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein², Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil2, Carbomer, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Linoleate, Triethanolamine, Potassium Sorbate, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene. Source: 1-Natural; 2-Wheat derived

  • Helps dehydrated hair look its best
  • Repairs split ends
  • Locks moisture

Moisture is essential for great natural coils and curls. As I Am DoubleButter Cream is a rich emollient blend, graced with the finest array of natural butters and organic oils.

In addittion to outstanding natural moisturizers, it contains Pro-vitamin B5, (known as Panthenol), to help repair split ends and strengthen hair.

Provides dehydrated hair with what it needs to look and behave its very best. Locks in moisture and gives dull dry hair softness, shine and manageability.

As I Am Twist Defining Cream 

IMG_0605Ingredients: Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut)¹ and Phyllanthus Emblica (Amla)¹ and Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine)¹ and Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root¹, Glycerin¹, Acetamide MEA, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil1, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil¹, Triethanolamine, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil¹, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)¹, Carbomer, Phytosterols², Disodium Ethylene Dicocamide PEG-15 Disulfate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Behenyl Alcohol¹, Glyceryl Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Trideceth-12, TBHQ, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene. Source: 1-Natural; 2-Canola Oil derived

  • Maximizes smoothness
  • Produces great shine
  • Long lasting definition
  • Hydrates dry hair
  • Minimizes frizz

As I Am Twist Defining Cream is made especially for highly textured hair with nurturing natural oils, plus an organic extract that provides the ultimate in moisturizing. It is used for Twists and Twist Out hairstyles.

 IMG_0596

More like AS I’M NOT

Let me start by saying that I tried these products apx 6 months ago and hated them. I decided to revisit now that I’ve changed my hair regimen and wanted to see if there would be any difference.

Well there definitely were some differences, but I will not say they all were for the better. One definite constant………………. I still hate it.

Starting with the Co Wash. First time around I washed following the directions and it didn’t really remove buildup to the level I’d prefer. My hair didn’t detangle either. I was immediately irritated, because detangling is so time consuming for me.

This time I did the “multi-part method” and found that I was able to get a cleaner feel. I did find that I was able to detangle better this round, but once I hopped in the shower to rinse, my hair tangled up again (not a whole lot, just enough to annoy me). Especially since I spend sooo much time detangling beforehand. I believe using the “multi-part method” is the way to go with this cowash. I just don’t like that my hair felt so close to stripped. Not quite stripped but almost there……Also, as my hair started to dry, my hair was looking puffy. There is no curl definition built in this cowash. I’m still not a fan of this co wash

I went on to my layering method.

I then applied the leave in conditioner. I don’t remember what happen the first time I used this leave in. Perhaps because it was useless. Seriously this leave in felt like water. It smelled nice, but I cannot say that my hair felt any different than had I just put water on it.

I next applied the Butter cream. I used this before and was not impressed. I was expecting it to be thicker like shae butter if you will, but it creamier like a conditioner of sorts. I was shocked. Maybe I missed something on the label. I just applied it all over my head as instructed the first round, but this time I layered it to each section.

Lastly I used the twist out cream. I didn’t use this cream the first time and pretty sure, it was the price that scared me away. Again I layered ot to each of my sections, that were wet. This product is a very thick and sticky cream. I was confused as to why this was thicker than the butter cream, but who am I. Oh and it smells nasty.

So the twist cream directions state that the hair must be soaking wet to apply and then completely dry when taking down…………I reiterate that, because I finished my twist at 8pm and at 5am the next day my hair was still really damp, even after straining the excess water out of my hair. (I’ve done this before and my hair was dry or very close to it) When I took the twist out, they did have the shape I wanted, but all for 2 mins. Once I tried to blend my roots, those twists went out in the wind. I basically ended up with the look of an old wash and go.

The first time around I was pretty heavy handed with the products and in the end, I was my hair felt nasty and producty. For such a heavy feeling, it still just puffed up all over the place.  I ended up washing my hair all over again the very next night.

This time I wasn’t so liberal with the product and made sure to remove all the excess to ensure that I wouldn’t have the nasty feeling. It worked, my hair felt nice and light, but and I mean a big BUUUT, by the end of the day my hair was soooooo dry. So using a lot of product resulted in puffy productly hair and using less resulted in puffy dry hair.

I will never use this again and have yet met anyone that swears by it =/

This product is certified a HOTMESS!!!

I took some footage of this tragedy taking place that I will share once I’ve finished editing. Enjoy the pics in the mean while……..

IMG_0612

Before with a super old twist out

IMG_0670

After the wash. My hair was still damp so the twists out resulted in a wash in go look and it felt dry

IMG_0680

The next day. My hair normally grows, but this was so dry and brittle and hard to maneuver

IMG_0685

My hair refused to behave so I pinned half of it up and went on bout my day

Leave a Reply

