Flaxseeds For My Belly

FLAXSEEDS

Check out The Benefits of Flaxseed for all of the great health benefits if you’re interested but here are my personal uses.

FOR MY BELLY

One of my best friends would make me some homemade granola and send it to me when I was deployed over in Iraq. She’s so awesome….Anyways it was so delicious and easy to eat, so when I moved Japan and on board my ship, she sent me some more. But this time not long after having a few bites, I’d have to run to the potty. I think she got a little heavy handed on the flaxseeds….Quite frankly, with the combination of ship food and my finicky digestive system; I didn’t mind the boost. But it got me to thinking. Man flaxseeds are really no joke. You know how you hear someone say “try bla bla bla” and you’re like “yeah ok” then you randomly do and you’re like “dang why didn’t I try that a long time ago”. That’s pretty much how I felt.

I’ve always had tummy issues, so by recognizing that I need a high fiber diet. Flaxseeds are my personal best friends. I do eat yogurt almost every day so I don’t necessarily need to eat flaxseeds every day. But I tend to cause myself trouble. I have those moment when  I ate a bunch of baby cheese (not aged), had ice cream filled with lactic acid, and I couldn’t resist me some Starbucks and had a latte………Yep I’m going to suffer.

If my normal regime of yogurt isn’t really surviving my body’s current state of shock, I turn to my flaxseeds.  Flaxseed fight constipation because they are high in both soluble and insoluble fiber. One ounce of flax provides 32% of the USDA’s reference daily intake of fiber. Flax promotes regular bowel movements because it is high in insoluble fiber. Flaxseed’s all natural fiber helps to absorb water, thereby softening the stool and allowing it to pass through the colon quickly.

Granted flaxseeds alone cannot save my day, I still need to drink a lot of water, because too much of one thing is never good. Ingesting too much fiber can actually make my constipation worse so keep that in mind. I also check my habits and ask myself….have you been eating your veggies? Have you been slacking on that PT (exercise)? If so, I force myself to get back into gear……

You can make granola – suggest whole

Pour in your yogurt, oatmeal or cereal – suggest either

Mix in your bake goods – suggest grounded

Mix in smoothies – suggest grounded

Options are endless. Just consider your textures, if you eating something more solid like granola then the whole seed will be fine, but if you’re making a yogurt, you’d probably want to use grounded seed. Simply up to you

Leave a Reply

