Black Soap

Black Soap

The many uses of one ingredient. One simple product. One low price!! (skip to the bottom is you don’t care for my banter)

I at one point years ago when I was beginning my natural journey I learned of using black soap but didn’t really care for it. I used a product called Nubian Heritage and just found it to not be favorable. It was very drying and a bit harsh for my liking. I at another time tried a black soap shampoo mixture from butter-n-bars and again was not feeling it.  So yes black soap is a very drying element. It’s going to get you clean and stripped of every ounce of moisture. If you are going for that effect then maybe those products worked for you and you’re happy. Me….Not so much. It was so dry my skin was irritated, I tried it as a facial wash and my eyes burned, and finally in my hair and it just sucks my hair way to dry. In my quest to find a natural soap that I could make, I saw a review on youtube, where they used the actual raw black soap. She used the mess out the bar. Like some random unorthidoxed block of black soap. No label no nothing. Anyways still hanging on my maybe it’s me notion, I figured sure I’ll try it. So I went back to my beloved butter-n-bars and order me some (I need to do a Shea haul anyways). I get my soap and I’m all excited. I washed my hair with it and even my skin. It still was drying but I for some reason found that it wasn’t as bad as the other products I tried in the past. But it was still drying and I wanted to use it on my skin too and so forth. Sooo me being a bit overzealous, I took some shea, some other oils and some soap and tried to create something that was an epic fail…….That failure resulted into me not looking at my black soap ever again.

So why am I raving about it now you ask. Why after all these years of dragging this bag of soup around like a product junky…….and I using it for some of everything now?????

Because it’s awesome and I was tripping.

Some Quick History

Black Soap or African Black Soap also known as Anago Soap or Alata soap, originates from West Africa. It has been used for centuries in Ghana. Black Soap or African Black Soap comes from plantain skin (yep like from the grocery store). It is a natural source of vitamins A & E and iron. In some recipes, Cocoa Pod is used instead of plantain skins. Cocoa Pod is the shell of the Cocoa fruit. The cocoa beans are used for making chocolate or cocoa butter among other things.

Traditional Black Soap is brownish-black in color. It is soft with an organic shape. It has a delicate texture & a natural earthy smell. It is not oily or scented. Be careful. Just because it’s says black soap on the label doesn’t mean that’s it’s the read deal.  The FAKE SOAP is hard, black and does not even compare to the original. Real Black Soap is always brownish-black. The longer the plantain skins are roasted the darker the soap. But the soap is never completely black. It is not scented.

SN:  Nubian heritage and shea moisture’s black soap (they are the same company) is completely black……..

 

The Uses

I wash my face with it. 

I can say that I have noticed my skin begin to clear up nicely. I was using Neutrogena natural face soap and liked it, on my toiletry run I opted for the bar of the same brand and hated it. OMG it burdened my eyes.  I bust out my black soap solution and never looked back. It not over drying and doesn’t make my face feel stripped but it still feels clean. Its comparable to the Neutrogena face soap but not as foamy and have one ingredient aside from water. Ive notice my blemished have decrease measurable. You can use it to remove your make up, but you may want to wash your face more than once. I did find it a bit challenging to remove my eye make-up, so that’s something for you to consider.

This replaced my hand soap.

pretty simple just pour it on your hand like regular soup.

You can clean your skin with it.

To do so, you will need to add a few ingredients in order to get it to a better constancy if you’d like to use a wash cloth or loofah. I haven’t quite mastered that, but it works, just not as nicely as most are used to. I don’t recommend washing your girly parts though, you don’t want to over dry your parts.

Use it as a natural cleaning agent.

I use it to clean my bathroom and kitchen counters. It leaves the area clean and film free. I use it on all of my chrome fixtures and it leaves them nice and shiny and streak free.

Wash your hair.

I do not use this to wash my hair because I typically follow a conditioning wash regimen. But I think for me this would be a great clarifier. I’ll try it and update this expressing my thoughts. I personally wouldn’t wash my whole head with black soap on a regular basis because it’s very drying. Id only get at my roots or use if I had a bunch of product on my hair.

How’d I Make It

  1. I took the soap and shredded it with my cheese grater. I did try to run I through my ninja but I just made a mess. Make sure your working are is completely dry because if not you will ending up making bubbles =) and it take longer to grate.
  2. I then took it and put it in a bottle filling it about a 1/2 (I really don’t measure) of the way and then added some water filling the rest of the bottle leaving a little room for shaking.
  3. I then shake it up for a little while until it darkens.
  4. You can use it immediately but its best to let it sit for a few hours to allow all of the soap piece to dissolve into the water.

I also use it as a bar, by taking the shaved soap and rolling it together and forming a shape that I like.

If you just leave it in it hard solid shape and don’t shave first, its kindda hard to use. I mean its a big lump of soap soooo…. And to me doesn’t work as well.

SIMPLE

Where to Get it From????

Google is your friend. You can find this stuff all over the net. I just happen to be loyal to butter-n-bars. I do love butter-n-bars black soap bars, just not their mixture with it. Dont know why. Just make sure it’s fare traded first! If I don’t feel like being crafty, I’ll purchase black soap by Alaffia. They use shea in their soap, so be mindful of getting it in your eyes. but its the best that I’ve tried thus far and it lathers super nicely. (check my find it cheaper links for better prices)

Leave a Reply

